Tim Burton Retrospective

Since this is an art blog, I don’t want it to be just about my own artwork but artists that influence me, creative friends and inspirational finds. So, I’m wondering if anyone has seen the Tim Burton Retrospective at the MOMA in NYC? I LOVE Burton’s work, from his early books and short films to the well-known classics (especially Nightmare Before Christmas!) I’m looking forward to seeing how these works developed, particularly the puppetry and early sketches.

Like another of my all-time favorite artists/writers, Eduard Gorey (who I had the pleasure of speaking to on the phone not too long before he died), I’m greatly influenced by the gothic, darkly humorous style of these artists and I definitely want to visit the MOMA to view the Burton show. I’m wondering if anyone else reading this has seen it yet and what you think of it…so drop me a line if you have thoughts on this! Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Tim Burton Retrospective

  1. Chrissy says:

    When are you going to see it? I would like to see it, too!

  2. Alisandra says:

    I have seen it.

    It is AWESOME, though smaller than I had thought it would be.

    Totally worth the trip though.

    Definitely a MUST-SEE!

Leave a Reply

