New Guest Blogger: Healing Through Art

Hi All,
I’m so happy that many people are interested in guest blogging (and trading blogs with me)! It really is a great way to learn about what other creative people are doing while generating more interest in our work and blog sites. I’d like to introduce my next guest, Angela Canada Hopkins and her inspiring story:
 “After losing my father to cancer my last year of art school–June 2001–I used my canvas and paint to express my grief. I wanted to understand more about the disease so I researched it and found a spring of bittersweet inspiration in the microscopic images of cancer cells.

From start to finish the paintings are different each time. The work begins by painting a random background pattern. My favorite technique is to splash rubbing alcohol onto wet paint. The rubbing alcohol repels the paint into irregular circles (see photo). Then, I reference photographs of microscopic cells to create the cancerous form. This isn’t a rigid process, in fact I start off experimenting in the hopes that the final image will turn out better than my initial vision. My intention is simply to show the magnificent patterns and colors of the galaxy-like cellular structures and bring awareness to the disease.

I hope you will come and visit me at, http://angelacanadahopkins.blogspot.com, as I continue to explore the microcosmic galaxy of cells and art. I also want to thank Lauren for giving me the opportunity to be a guest writer on her blog.
Bye for now and thanks for reading!
Angela”

Guest blog by Angela Canada Hopkins
http://www.CanadaHopkins.com

Images:
Cancer Cell #4 Stage and Completed Painting
Acrylic on Canvas, 40 x 30”

Stage-of-Painting,
Acrylic on Canvas

Cancer Cell #15
Acrylic on Canvas with Beads, 24 x18”

2 thoughts on “New Guest Blogger: Healing Through Art

  1. Angela says:

    It was a pleasure to be a guest. Thanks again Lauren.

Leave a Reply

