The Waiting…

So, you artists out there must know what “the waiting” is like…waiting to find out if you’ve been accepted for a show or event, waiting to see if you’ve received a commission or award, waiting for a client to pay you for work, waiting for someone to pick up artwork or receive delivered work. I figured I’d blog about this since I’m currently in a state were I’m waiting for almost all of those scenarios to happen!

Don’t get me wrong..I’d much rather be in this position than one where I have nothing going on with my art career…much better to wait for $ than to have none coming to you. Better to wait for clients to get their work than not to have clients! BUT, when you’re a full time artist whose life revolves around these things, it can get stressful. So my question to you is, how do YOU deal with “the waiting game?” Do you meditate ( sometimes this works for me but other times my mind is just too busy & I can’t focus). Do you leave the studio, freak out, eat, watch TV, start new projects?? Just curious since it can help to share ideas about what other creative people do to get by.

Well, here’s hoping your waits are all for positive things and that your wait is short!
🙂 Lauren
The Wait

13 thoughts on “The Waiting…

  1. Mark says:

    I find it helps just to keep working! That and a ‘medicinal libation’!
    M
    : )

  2. laurencurtis says:

    Good point, M! 😉

  3. Ann Brauer says:

    Very interesting post Lauren. I had just been thinking about a similar concept of finishing things on my blog. Could be the long-drawn-out wait for spring?

    Anyhow, if I am finding the waiting so distracting that I am not getting work done–my favorite escape is to go for a walk around the block–out here that is almost 4 miles so by the time I get home I am much more mellow.

    • laurencurtis says:

      Thanks Ann! I agree..I also like to go out for a walk sometimes just to clear my head and relax..sadly we’ve been getting hit with ton of rain lately in NJ so no walks right now, but I could sure use one! 🙂

  4. Mari-Lyn says:

    hi Lauren
    This would be a great question for the group. However, when I am waiting I surrender, just forget about it (it gets easier as you get older) Put your attention on something else, another project or some art work. Go for a long walk…just be gentle on yourself. Then the waiting is so long or nerve wrecking.

    Mari-Lyn

  5. T.L. Anderson says:

    What group! I’ll be waiting for your reply!…he,he.
    I was waiting for the bus the other day, then I
    remembered I own a vehicle! Laughter is the
    best medicine for many things!
    On a more serious note:
    Life is not about waiting for
    the storms to pass.
    It’s about learning how
    to dance in the rain.
    Author unknown

  6. gwen fox says:

    Lauren…I figure “waiting” is like “change”….it will always be with us. Learning to take the ebb and flow of life as it comes is sometimes hard. I try to not make anything super important as it takes too much energy. Once I have entered a show, talked to a gallery or sold a painting I put a note in a file on my desk telling me the date, etc. This way I don’t forget to check on the outcome or payment. The waiting is no longer a part of my psyche…..I move on to other things that I have to wait for.
    When things get overwhelming I go for a long walk to clear my head and get myself centered.
    Hope this rambling helps.

    • laurencurtis says:

      Not rambling at all, Gwen! Thanks for your input…I also keep dated notes about all sales, shows, etc…my problem is I keep looking at them too often, LOL. But so far, the consensus is that walking is the best remedy to stressful worrying….interesting!

  7. Sandy wager says:

    Waiting is a form of slow strangulation for me lol. The best way to take my mind off the waiting game is to market my art. I also trawl the net for art news etc and post what I find to my FaceBook Art Group. Whilst I am looking at new art sites I often come across some amazing arists, their work can sometimes inspire me to paint something new. Once I begin to search the net for interesting arty stuff I completely forget about the things I am waitng for!
    Sandy Wager

    • laurencurtis says:

      Thanks for the great comment, Sandy! Sometimes I also find it helps to try and focus on other positive aspects of my art career while in the waiting phase. Hope you have a creative Spring!

Leave a Reply

