New Guest Blog: Laara WilliamSen on Art & Social Media

Hi All,
Once again, I’m happy to introduce you to a great artist I met on LinkedIn, Laara WilliamSen. Here’s her guest blog (& look for mine on her blog site soon!)… http://’laarawilliamsen.wordpress.com

TWITTER ART & SOCIAL MEDIA

I have really enjoyed being a part of The Twitter Art & Social Media Group Exhibition at the Diane Farris Gallery in Vancouver, B.C. What has become clear to me from participating in the exhibition is that there are two strands of artists using the internet. The first group of artists are using content from the internet to actually create their art. The second group of artists are working from their studios and making use of the internet’s social media to further their careers I am distinctly in the second category having been active in the studio as a painter for over thirty years. Only recently have I acquired enough computer “smarts” to use the internet’s social media!

Now, having become very active on the internet, I just love it. Because of my Linked in connection, the blogs that I write and my web page I am happy to tell you that throughout Canada, the United Kingdom, Belgium, the Netherlands, Denmark, China, Ireland, Spain, Italy, South Africa and across the U.S.A., I have connections to Galleries, C.E.O’s, Foundations, Artists and Artist Groups.
I enjoy touring the MOMA on line and seeing exhibitions that I otherwise wouldn’t see! Some of the online groups that I belong to include; Emily Carr University of Art and Design Alumni, Art Professionals Worldwide, Fine Art Network, Art Collecting Network, Art Marketing, Scientist Artist Collarborations.

The internet gives me both a personal sense of where I fit into the contemporary art world and expands my knowledge of what is imminent. Because I am more informed, my art reflects this. I am currently creating oil paintings by re-inventing some of the Hubblecraft photographs of the universe. Next month and in June, I will be exhibiting in group exhibitions in Naples, Italy, Germany, London, UK and New York, USA. I particularly enjoy the amazing friendships that I am forming with artists from all around the world!

Laara WilliamSen
International Professional Painter
Vancouver, B.C. CANADA
http://’laarawilliamsen.wordpress.com


9 thoughts on “New Guest Blog: Laara WilliamSen on Art & Social Media

  1. Mari-Lyn says:

    It’s so cool that the both of your are taking advantage of exchanging articles or blog posts – Collaborating and supporting each other as artists and using Social Media to deliver your message.

    Great Job! Keep it up.

    • Thanks Mari-Lyn…guest blogging is a great way to share info. about what other artists are doing and gain new viewers for ourselves as well…anytime you’d like to exchange blogs, just let me know!
      🙂 Lauren

  2. T.L. Anderson says:

    Hi Lauren,
    Cool beans! Nice informative article by Laara! I hope all your latest shows
    have gone well for you! Good luck with the barrel bidding!
    Take care.
    Tom

    • Hi Tom,
      Glad you enjoyed Laara’s article! Mine should be on her blog soon. She’s a very cool woman! My shows are going very well and I got a bid on the barrel so we’ll see where it goes. Hope all’s well with you! Talk to you soon,
      Lauren

  3. […] View original post here: New Guest Blog: Laara WilliamSen on Art & Social Media « Lauren … […]

  4. Hi Lauren,
    Thank you so much for posting my writing on Twitter and Social Media. It is wonderful to know that others are enjoying the information too! I have posted your Guest Artist information on my blog now and I hope others will hop over there and visit.
    All the best to you!
    Laara

  5. den jones says:

    Hey Lauren.! that was pretty interesting..to see the work flow and contribution of both of two on the these social media sites…looks like you are enjoying it with all others…pretty cool….take care. Den

Leave a Reply

