My Art in Malaysia!

Hope everyone in the heatwave (East Coast, US & elsewhere from what I hear) are staying calm and cool. I wanted to work on a new oil painting but the thought of those fumes in this 100 degree heat wasn’t appealing (I need better ventilation in the Summer!) so I completed a small (8.5″ x 11″) watercolor called “Two Mourners” (part of my “Mystics & Mourners series) for an international small-works group show at an art gallery/center in Malaysia!! Nice that my art can travel even when I can’t! I’ve attached the image at the end of this blog. (signed, matted reproductions available!)

The show is called Miniature Masterpieces Art Exhibition 2010 and will exhibit small works from artists from across the globe at Galerie ASWARA, National Academy of Arts, Culture & Heritage in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in Sept.-Oct. 2010. As soon as I get more info. I’ll post it here!
Take care,
Lauren

Signed 8×10 repros matted to 11×14 available for $25! Paypal, checks & $ orders accepted. Please contact me to order. Thanks!

8 thoughts on “My Art in Malaysia!

  1. I love this! I love the hope in it. While the women are mourning, there’s green all around them, the hope of nature, the promise that life continues. In nature there is hope. Grass dies but then returns. Observing nature, we conceived of the idea of life after death. And this is what I see in this painting. Vila

  2. What a beautiful and interesting interpretation of the painting, and how I feel about Nature!
    Thanks, Vila!

  3. This is so fabulous that you are exhibitilng is such a prestigious exhibition in Malaysia, Lauren. I wish you so much more continued success with your creativity!
    And I absolutely love the painting that you have created for this exhibition.
    All the best,
    Laara WilliamSen

  4. Thanks Laara, that means a lot to me! Wishing US success on our Canadian proposal and YOU success on your Germany exhibit!!

  5. Marjorie says:

    Hey Lauren,
    Great!! I have a friend who is actually FROM Malaysia and exhibits there regularly. Seems they have a happenin’ art scene!! Congrats!!!
    XXOO
    Marjorie

    • laurencurtis says:

      Cool…does your friend exhibit in that same space? Think they’ve been doing this show for a few years. Just hope my piece makes it there in time…I sent it almost 2 weeks ahead of the due date. Thanks for the congrats!

  6. Very cool, and the painting is beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

