Barcelona in Black & White

Hi All!
I know it’s been a couple of months since I got back from Barcelona but I’m still working on some of the 200 photos I shot during my trip to this beautiful city. Although Barcelona is FULL of color, and most of the photos I took utilized color film to capture this, I LOVE shooting in B&W film, especially when it comes to some of the gothic architecture in European cities.

So, I shot some B&W 35mm Ilford film, which gives a more grainy, “antique” look to the photos and am very happy with the results. I chose the famous cathedral, Sagrada Familia, to use this film as not only does it have the organic, dripping style of Gaudi, but a geometric, skeletal style of other famous Spanish architects as well. The photo here is a close up of the Gaudi towers located on one side of the structure. You can see some of the cranes and scaffolding since a lot of reconstruction is being done to preserve this amazing cathedral. I took this photo from the inside of the church, which is all stone and cement…this was taken from behind one of the many long, narrow stone openings in one of the towers.

More to come soon…
🙂 Lauren

7 thoughts on “Barcelona in Black & White

  1. Mark says:

    Brilliant work as usual!

  2. Really wonderful photo Lauren! Thanks for sharing this. All the best, Laara WilliamSen

  3. Thanks guys..glad you like the photo!

  4. Hi Lauren, it takes time to make art for sure. I like this organic, living structure reflected in the shape and the cutting of your picture.
    Wishing you the best with the rest of them.
    best from Elly

  5. Claudia says:

    Great photo reminder of this awesome spot, I remember being so amazed of the place. Looking forward to more photos…
    Best wishes
    Claudia

Leave a Reply

