New art at the end of summer…

Can you believe it’s September already??? I can’t…time goes by so quickly and I don’t know if I’m ready to say goodbye to summer yet, although obviously I have no choice. But I do LOVE autumn; especially Halloween, although to me it’s a bit early when I see Halloween decor in the stores by early August! Detracts from the mystery and excitement of the season!

Anyway, I’ve been making the most of my summer leisure time and continuing to create new pieces for my 2 new mixed-media photo collage series X-Rayted and Curio-cities. These darker images definitely fit in with that autumn, All Hallows mood!

As you might already know, the 1st series utilizes photos I shoot from actual x-rays juxtaposed with other photographs and Victorian woodcuts. The 2nd series is similar but I’m utilizing images of natural found objects and Victorian photos and woodcuts to create alternative yet antique or ancient “cities” and “inhabitants” from times past…and maybe from another place!

I wanted to share with you my 4 newest pieces and hope you enjoy them. Feel free to contact me with any questions about the work or to order signed prints.

Enjoy the end of summer…
~Lauren

5 thoughts on “New art at the end of summer…

  1. Lauren, Thanks for sharing your fabulous art works! I definitely feel the mystery and the feminine within them. Really well done! All the best, Laara WilliamSen

  2. Mark says:

    Excellent work!!

  3. Thanks Laara and Mark! Much appreciated!

  4. Hi Lauren, it seems you are in a very positive creative process – exploring new territory. And being influenced by the too short summer…you express exactly how I feel about it, – yes, I like autumn – but it is too early.
    Best of luck with your new works!

  5. Hi Elly,
    Thanks for the kind words and yes, it just seems that time goes by too quickly…I’m not a “sun worshiper” but I do love the longer daylight hours as I feel like I have more time to get things done, even if it is an illusion! Autumn is beautiful (and a more “gothic” time of year, LOL) but winter makes me feel more secluded…
    I love the gorgeous flower pics on your blog, by the way! Will you shoot snow scenes in winter?
    🙂 Lauren

Leave a Reply

