The Business of Art & Online Classes To Learn About It

Art and business seems like oil and water. The two just can’t — or shouldn’t — mix. In reality, it takes an understanding of business basics for a professional artist to succeed.  A full-time artist may not have the time or money to attend college classes. But some of the best online classes in business are one way artists can back up their creative talent with some fiscal common sense.  Just be careful that you find a legitimate source before spending you hard earned dollars!

So, now that the holidays are over it’s time to get back to work!  Being a full time visual artist, I’m my own boss and am responsible for seeking out new clients and collectors, networking, marketing and promoting!  This is a full time job unto itself, and one that many artists can’t stand, don’t want to do or just don’t know how.  Since my background was in sales and marketing, this never presented a huge problem and I usually enjoy it…who better to work hard to promote than yourself?  So when Mari-lyn Harris, art marketing guru, asked to interviewed me for her website (www.Heartatworkonline.org) about the business of art I was more than happy to do it!

Hope you’ll have a listen: http://ping.fm/RBu4W

Thanks to Mari-lyn for giving me this opportunity!

4 thoughts on “The Business of Art & Online Classes To Learn About It

  1. Michael says:

    Hey I couldn’t find the interview? Is there something specific I have to click? I want to listen to your voice!

    • laurencurtis says:

      Hey Michael,
      She’s supposed to have a link on her site…not sure if it’s up yet, but she does have a contact email to ask her about it…let me know if you find out how people can listen. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

