To Fest or not to Fest; an artist’s dilemma

Happy Summer (for those of you in my hemisphere…otherwise, happy winter)!  Despite the bizarre weather patterns across the globe, summer is in full force in good ol’ New Jersey and we’ve been getting plenty of hot, steamy, sunny days..but we haven’t been free of rain and when does it seem to hit most??  Well, when I have an outdoor art fest to do, of course!

Now there’s nothing quite like going through the stress and strain of setting up a professional looking both at an art event only to feel those annoying drops of rain begin to fall RIGHT AFTER everything’s ready to go!!  Then it’s “QUICK!  GET THE TARP….PROTECT THE ART!!!”  Don’t get me wrong; I really enjoy doing art fests of all sorts.  They’re an excellent way to sell and get exposure for your work, to network with other artists and potential new clients and collectors, and it’s extremely satisfying to win an award!  (I’m happy to say I won a cash award in the last three juried art fests I’ve done over the last year!  YAY!).  But many people don’t realize the hard work it is to do an art fest, especially outside when you’re constantly worried about the weather…and not just rain…but wind, heat, cold, humidity…it’s a rare and lucky occasion when you stumble upon that perfect day!  And of course, the weather (& weather predictions) dictate the crowd that’ll show up for the event.

But, as a full time artist, I highly recommend giving art fests a try…especially local ones as it’s a great way to get your work seen by your community.  It also builds your mailing list and your resume and can lead not only to sales but to other exhibit opportunities as well!

So, I guess it’s not as much of a dilemma after all…except when you’re watching the news and the weather person says those dreaded words; “Looks like thunderstorms will hit the area by 11am tomorrow…” which is, of course, the time when your event is due to begin!  But, they can be wrong and you can still take the chance and come out on top…although it doesn’t hurt to pray to the weather gods to be on your side that day!

See you at the fest…check http://www.facebook.com/LaurenCurtisArtTalonArt  & this blog  for updates on my upcoming art events.

Take care,

Lauren

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

P.S. I have no idea why the photo of me & my award shows up sideways…file is saved right-side up..it’s a computer mystery!

2 thoughts on “To Fest or not to Fest; an artist’s dilemma

  1. Indigene says:

    Lauren, my first experience with an outdoor booth, was almost completely blown away by a storm, so I can certainly relate! It’s has given my family some good laughs over the years, although, I was not laughing at the time! You’re so adventuresome, so I’m sure you have tales to tell! I hope you have an amazing and successful summer! I’ll try to show up to some of them this year! 🙂

  2. laurencurtis says:

    LOL, thanks for sharing your tale, Indigene…yup, I certainly have many stories about braving terrible weather conditions at art fests…including one that happened just 2 weeks ago! Hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

