The Umbrella Dream

Mixed media has really been my thing lately….I found that being an “artistic multi-personality” pays off when you combine different techniques and media to produce a coherent piece.  Aside from my digital photo collage work, I’ve been doing some watercolors mixed with actual cut-&-paste collage and sometimes photography, as in my newest piece, “The Umbrella Dream”.  This 15″x20″ inch work is done on heavy, slightly textured watercolor paper and is based on a macabre, bizarre dream I had a few months ago, which took place in a hill top cemetery (which doesn’t exist in reality…as far as I know…) which had black umbrellas perched atop of each tombstone.  It was a dreary, cloudy day….the rest has faded but here’s the piece that this dream inspired:

"The Umbrella Dream" (c)2013 Lauren Curtis, Mixed Media on watercolor paper

“The Umbrella Dream” (c)2013 Lauren Curtis, Mixed Media on watercolor paper

The framed, signed original, as well as printed repros,  are currently available.  For more info., reply to this blog or email me at forestwalker333@hotmail.com (Paypal accepted to this addy).

I hope you like the new work!

~Lauren

Leave a Reply

