On the Radio & Fall Art Fests

The colorful Autumn season has begun and there are a lot of ghostly, artsy events coming up in Oct.!  First, here’s some art shows & fests I’ll be doing this month and then I’ll give you the scoop on my  radio artist interview!

ART EVENTS:
1.  Dia de los Muertos Group Art Exhibit, opens 10/1/13 & runs thru 11/3/2013 at LITM,
140 Newark Ave., Jersey City, NJ. 

I have 4 of my x-ray digital photo collages in this show.

2. PARA-X, paranormal expo/psychic fair at the haunted Elk’s Lodge,  Sat. 10/5/13, 1-6pm, 21 Oakmont Ave., East Brunswick, NJ.  Only $5 admission!  Food & beverages available for purchase on site!  Special guests!  I’ll be vending all day!

PARA X Flyer 2013

PARA X Flyer 2013

3.  Fall Art Exhibit, Group Show at UMDNJ Gallery,  opening reception Thurs. 10/17/13, 4-6pm, Medical Science Bldg., B1515, 185 South Orange Ave., Newark, NJ  Show runs thru  Jan.8, 2014 

4.  D&R Canal River Arts Fest, Art, Music, Food, Kid’s Activities & more!  E. Millstone (Franklin Twnsp., NJ) along the historic D&R Canal, Sat. 10/19 (raindate Sun. 10/230).  For info: 732-246-0009, www.FranklinFoodBank.org

Caged Nerves (c)Lauren Curtis

Caged Nerves (c)Lauren Curtis

AND NOW THE BIG RADIO SHOW NEWS…
I was thrilled to be interviewed about my artwork, for the 2nd time, by renowned herbalist & women’s spiritual teacher/mentor SUSUN WEED on her WISE WOMAN RADIO SHOW!  The interview aired on 9/23 but it’s not too late!  You can hear it on her websites & here are the links to my 1/2 hour interview.  We discuss art & how it relates to both commercial endeavors and spiritual paths!

Mentor site:
http://wisewomanmentor.com/wise-woman-radio?mode=PostView&bmi=1396342

Webblog:
http://www.wisewomantradition.com/wisewomanweb/2013/09/wise-woman-radio-susun-weed-interviews-artist-lauren-curtis-.html

Happy Haunting this Halloween!
Lauren

4 thoughts on “On the Radio & Fall Art Fests

  1. Aakash Adesara says:

    This is actually a very creative image! I don’t know why nobody has commented yet but the message with this image really conveys what lotsa people feel when they are nervous! I am trying to improve my own illustrative skills and I was wondering if you would kind enough to check out my most recent picture @ http://aspiretheninspire.com/2013/11/07/positive-twist/ and give me ANY feedback you have about the image I posted in the comments section. I would really, appreciate it! Once again, beautiful illustration!

    • laurencurtis says:

      Thanks Aakash! Yup, most of us get that feeling of butterflies in our guts when we’re on edge. I like your blog and agree with what you said and things are definitely cyclical! The only image I saw was a photo with a Vonnegut quote overlaid…was that what you meant? 🙂

      • Aakash Adesara says:

        Yes. And I also attempted to create the loops (the infinite symbol and ellipse) as if a child created it with markers.

  2. laurencurtis says:

    Yes, it did have that loose, hand drawn look as if a child drew it over the photo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

